SWPL Announces Activation of San Diego Premier

Published Jan 8, 2024

LA MIRADA, CA (January 8, 2024) Southwest Premier League today confirms its plan to create a regional pathway for players and clubs with the activation of San Diego Premier.

Six clubs have signed agreements to play a Spring Season beginning in March, with more clubs signing on daily. San Diego Premier will feature as many as 10 clubs in the Spring Season.

Tijuana FC, which participated in NISA Nation's 2023 Spring Season, returns as part of a group of clubs that includes Cuervos San Diego, FSA Elite, Pumas San Diego, Tecate San Diego and White Tigers FC, with potentially more clubs to be announced in the coming weeks.

“We continue to forge pathways in the Southwest Region to connect real opportunities for players and clubs,” SWPL President Matt Morse said. “San Diego Premier represents a significant step forward for the amateur game in the Southwest with our low barrier to entry and access to NISA Independent Cup and the NISA Nation National Championship tournament. It’s exciting to see the growth and we’re looking forward to a competitive circuit this season.”

The champion of the San Diego Premier League earns a spot in this fall's Southwest Premier League playoffs, with that winner advancing to play in the NISA Nation national tournament.

Southwest Premier League, with regional divisions in Northern and Southern California, Arizona and Nevada, launched in 1976 as Coast Soccer League before rebranding as SoCal Premier League in 2008 and expanding into the SWPL in 2020.

The San Diego Premier schedule will be released in February. More SWPL regional divisions will be announced soon.